A Gem Uncovered

A gem uncovered.

Otherwise known as finding something valuable again, quite by accident, that had slipped through the fingers of your memory, that is a gem uncovered.  Evidently, I had posted this as a bio somewhere and only just became re-acquainted with it as I am searching diligently for access to an account that was rashly deleted.  Read on for a fresh post of an old, quite old, train of thought…

On my drive home from a day trip to visit out-of-state family members with the full moon glowing above and “warm fuzzy” songs playing on the radio, review of a phone call put me in quite a contemplative mood. I kept my hands on the wheel and my eyes on the road but my thoughts were traveling a different path. The phone call had come through to me at my mom’s house less than an hour before. This was an unplanned visit and receiving a phone call there was a surprise to say the least. The surprise quickly became a blessing as the caller had been a Sunday School teacher of mine from years past, many years past…as in almost 30 years ago. We talked a bit, catching up on current events and a few laughs, making promises to meet for dinner soon with his wife and my parents. He ended the conversation with these words, “I am proud of you, I always have been, and I want you to know I love you”. Warm memories came flooding in and enveloped me much like the night air caressed and the moon illuminated. I thought of this man’s sentiments toward me and this man’s lifestyle that was different from mine. I quickly acknowledged that what he has is what I want. He has someone to call his own (his growing family) and his very words and actions portrayed the pride and contentment of a simple and satisfying life of taking care of those whom he loved. What I want is someone to call my own (otherwise known as a husband), who unashamedly whispers to me at the end of the day, “Debbie, I want you to know I am proud of you and that I love you”. What I want is someone to call my own, whose very words and actions portray pride and contentment of a simple and satisfying life of taking care of me and receiving those precious gifts in return from me as well. I cannot describe that man physically nor can I define the type of home, occupation, salary, or location that he may bring with him. But I can tell you that the man would have to be strong in character and integrity, able to laugh easily, teachable and hungry to grow in wisdom and maturity, responsible, response-able, passionate … and totally snookered by me!

Hmmm, I wonder how many more gems I have in hiding that need to be uncovered?

2 thoughts on “A Gem Uncovered

    • Thank you very kindly! I reread that a few times when I found it; I couldn’t believe that was buried somewhere. It is safe to say it was originally written between 2006-2009. I wait still to uncover a lot of gems, including enjoying the marriage supper with the Lover, my Perfect Husband and the marriage supper with my earthly lover, my earthly husband.

      Like

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

