If Only I Knew When

“Pffffffftttttt!”  Well that helped a lot, now didn’t it?  I don’t know what that hairdresser was thinking when she talked me into this hairstyle.  It’s cute in the picture, sure.  And with each forward tilt of my head, my face is curtained with hair.  Not even the bifocals give me vision through this mess.

Fingering the long layered bangs back behind her ear, she reaches for the top file in the inbox at the corner of her desk.  The desk clock reminds her it’s 3 PM already.  The desk calendar shouts that it’s four weeks already.  As if she needed reminding that he has been gone for four weeks.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know he’s coming back; he promised.  I just don’t know when.

Isn’t that like taking candy from a child?  “Look little girl, I bought this just for you!”, and then immediately snatching it out of her hands, telling her she can have it at Christmas.

She flips through the file, checking to make sure all forms are present and accounted for before digging into the details.  These forms really are outdated; we really should do something about that, you know.  Has anyone considered making them available on the web? It would certainly do away with having to read all this chicken scratch.

Fingering the long layered bangs back behind her ear, she begins to hum Blessed Assurance.  Watching and waiting, looking above.  Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.  This is my story …  The desk clock reminds her it’s 3:03 PM already.  The desk calendar shouts that it’s four weeks already.  As if she needed reminding that he has been gone for four weeks.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know he’s coming back; he promised.  He always fulfills his promises. I just don’t know when.

This is my story.  He’s off working on a project.  When he’s off on a project, he could be gone two weeks or two months.  It just depends on the obstacles, the red tape, labor, politics, unforeseen adventures.  One just never knows.  In spite of this being the day and age of immediate communication through the worldwide web, it’s not aways so easy with time differences, schedules and connectivity issues.  Not having heard his voice or receiving any kind of message from him for days now easily drains the strength from the heart and the twinkle from the eye.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know he’s coming back; he promised.  He always fulfills his promises.  I just don’t know when.

Fingering the long layered bangs back behind her ear, strands of her hair are caught within the prongs of the rings on her left hand.  With furrowed brow, her focus shifts from the file folder as she tugs her hand through her hair.  The papers of the file spill to the floor.  With deeper furrowed brow, she bends down to retrieve the loose papers, sighing as she looks at the disheveled mess on her desk.  A shadow falls across that mess.  Now what?????

She looks up into the face that she hasn’t seen for four weeks already.  The desk clock, reminding her that it’s 3:05 PM already, goes unnoticed save for the loud second-by-second ticking away of time.  In rhythm of that second-hand are two hearts beating furiously as silent tears of sweet reunion course down her cheeks.  Within arms as strong as the ages, he lifts her and dances in circles.  Both burst out in crazy laughter.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know he’s coming back; he promised.  He always fulfills his promises.

If Only I Knew When

Back Where You Belong by Jack Vettiano

 “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

5 thoughts on “If Only I Knew When

  1. a very beautiful post………very aptly named , ..on a cold night, its the promise of luv, that keeps u warm….I guess its better to have a broken promise, than none at all…atleast it keeps life going.

    Like

    • There are many promises made from the Lover that keep me warm and give me purpose in life. I just noticed a comment of your most recent post, “….In trying to understand the purpose of life, am I stopping myself from making it a Life of purpose….and letting Life go by…..” I hope that soon you will learn what is like to live according to the promises of the Lover. Bless you, friend. I am looking forward to staying in touch.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Dance With Me | Shadows of Love

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

