The Glittering Weight On My Finger

In the beginning, into the darkness, your splendor spoke hope to a weak heart.  With time and tenderness, your love plucked out the field of weeds and cultivated a garden of beauty. Into my chaos came the promise of your strength with the brilliant diamond you slipped on my finger.  The glittering weight on my finger matched the sparkle in your eyes.  You promised to love me forever and ever, amen.

The Glittering Weight On My Finger

Every year your goodness shone through.  Our house grew crowded and our home stronger.  Your love was surprising; your love was constant.  Our children learned to walk confidently, to laugh wholeheartedly and to live respectfully.  You taught them to greet life with passion.  You taught them to love forever and ever, amen.

Now in the fading light, we clasp fragile hands, lacing our fingers together.  The glittering weight on my finger shines as brightly as ever, as does the twinkle in our eyes.  Our love is more gentle, our bodies more frail.  Our thoughts slip in and out through the years of memories.  Life has been good to us; you have loved me forever and ever, amen.

4 thoughts on “The Glittering Weight On My Finger

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

