A Picture of Grace, They All Say

A picture of grace, they all say. 

Today is my wedding day and though my heart is burning with a sacred and passionate love for the woman who will be my wife from this day forward, my heart is heavy.  My tongue has become permanently affixed to the roof of my mouth for fear of uttering the thoughts that are tumbling through the caverns of my mind.  How ever will I be able to speak the vows and voice my commitment to her while these thoughts are like volcanic ash in the hot depths of my being?

A picture of grace, they all say.

She is the most beautiful woman I have ever seen.  Her smile lights up my universe.  Her big brown eyes are laughing before the last tears are shed even when she’s sad.  Her lips are tender with her words and with her kisses.  Many a time her words of wisdom laced with tenderness have punctured the hardened shell of my heart.  Before I met her, I was a man without hope.  She is the very image of hope!  When I hold her in my arms, it is she who restrains me from giving free rein to my passion.  Listening to her voice drives me bonkers and yet settles me and I know that everything is going to be all right in this world of ours.  It is she who has been a picture of grace in my life.  There is no other woman like her.  I’ve known many, too many.  At the end of the day when I had finished with them all, the hardened shell of my heart only thickened and I sunk even more into hopelessness.  Today is my wedding day and my heart is burning with a sacred and passionate love for the woman who will be my wife from this day forward.

A picture of grace, they all say. 

I shake my head, for I have heard what they had to say.  And may they all be damned by their own small mindedness and evil hearts.  You see, they think I am a picture of grace because the most beautiful woman I have ever seen, the one who broke through my hardened heart and filled it with hope, the one who drives me bonkers and settles me in peace, the one who drives me delirious with desire will not be walking down the aisle to meet me at the altar. 

God will deliver her by chariot. 

A picture of grace, she is.

 

A Picture of Grace, They All Say 

2 thoughts on “A Picture of Grace, They All Say

  1. Another thought-provoking read. Very good. If you haven’t already found Donald Miller, I suggest you try him out. Find, “Blue Like Jazz”. If possible, get it in audio form and listen to it. Your style reminds me of his.

    Would love to connect with you sometime to just chat. Check out my website (www.robingilbertluftig.com) for my different addresses if you’re interested.

    Like

    • I remember the title from long ago but I don’t recall reading it–but I will now! I’ll check for the audio too. Of late, I’ve been listening to radio theater and I love it.

      To be honest, I cried all the way through writing A Picture of Grace. It happens like that sometimes.

      Good to hear from you again.

      Like

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

