After All, We Are All on the Same Team, Right?

The Football Player

I am one member of a bigger group.  I am one member of the bigger group and together we work toward a common goal.  I have a particular role within that bigger group with the express purpose of reaching the common goal of winning. 

I am one member with personal responsibilities, as are the other team members.  I must attend practice.  In practices, I suit up in my protective kit.  I wear identifying colors.  I stretch, I run, I block, I tackle.  I listen to the commands of the coach. I have no choice but to understand the rules of the game and the plays of the team.  I am accountable for my moves, my strength, my speed, my obedience to orders and yet dependent on my team mates.  Aside from practices with the team, I must maintain prescribed diets, strength training, mental focus, and a certain public identification of character. 

There are challenges that build endurance.  There are exercises to build strength.  No pain, no gain.  Hit hard, run fast, gain ground, make the goal.

On game day, the success of the team is in direct correlation to the attention given to team practices and personal development.  When we hit the field, we are many members of one team.  Together we win; together we lose.

The Cheerleader

I am one member of a bigger group.  I am one member of the bigger group and together we work toward a common goal.  I have a particular role within that bigger group with the express purpose of reaching the common goal of building and encouraging team spirit with the spectators. 

I am one member with personal responsibilities, as are the other team members.  I must attend practice.   I am accountable for my moves, my strength, my speed, my obedience to orders and yet dependent on my team mates.  Aside from practices with the team, I must maintain prescribed diets, strength training, mental focus, and a certain identification of appearance. 

On game day, the image of the cheer team is in direct correlation to the attention given to team practices and personal development as we cheer the football players on the field.  Our outfits, our pom poms, and our chants all hold attention and create excitement.  Together we win; together we lose. 

After all, we are all on the same team, right?

Imagine describing the body of believers, known by some as the church, in a similar analogy? 

There are the ones who are the football player types.  We participate in the services and in the Bible studies and serve each other and the community.  We suit up in the appropriate armor and identification.  We pursue personal accountability in prescribed diets, strength training, mental focus and we maintain a certain public identification.  We have incorporated in our daily structure Scripture application and memorization, meditation and prayer …  When the game is on in the field of life, we expect victory because we have been stretched out of our comfort zones, we have recognized the need to flee from temptation, we have learned to block in spiritual attacks,  and we have learned to tackle strongholds and deceptions.  Personal and team disciplines prepare the way for victory.

There are the ones who are the cheerleader types.  We attend the services and the Bible studies and serve each other and the community.  When the game is on in the field of life, our outfits, our pom poms, and our chants all hold attention and create excitement.  Together we win; how can we lose with Jesus on our team?

After all, we are all on the same team, right?

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

