Restless Soul, Wounded Heart

I gave my all to the woman I married.

I gave my all to the children she bore me.

 

Infidelity ate away my trust.

Alcohol consumed her body. 

My soul is restless for it knows no peace.

My heart is stifled, imprisoned in scars.

 

I face a new beginning, without closure from the past.

Laughter is the best medicine; adventure and fun are my chosen analgesics.

Touch me, let me know that I am still alive and desirable. 

Behind the scars still beats the heart of a man.

 

Where do I go with my need to be respected?

Where do I go with my need to rescue and to protect?

Rescue me from this prison. 

Love me slowly or I will run.

Inside this restless soul is a wounded heart.

Behind the scars still beats the heart of a man.

 

 

Come to me, all you who are troubled and weighted down with care,

and I will give you rest. 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

