A Left Turn in the Right Direction

While on a bit of adventure today, I found myself in a part of town with which I am only a bit familiar.  There are dodgy areas that I would hope not to be caught in after dark.  In full daylight, I wasn’t all that concerned, only watchful.  Needless to say, it was a  spur-of-the-moment decision to chase after this adventure.  There was a specific address that I was in search of.  Needless to say, the spur-of-the-moment decision equipped me with only a vague idea of where to go.  I assumed the house in question would be obvious after I reached the general area.  Needless to say, the spur-of-the-moment decision did not lead me to the desired place.

I returned home still quite excited.  I had found another gem along the way.  On checking the exact address of what initiated the original adventure and comparing it to where I was actually cruising round and round, I learned that a left turn in the right direction from where I was would have put me right where I was planning to go.  Not to let my excitement die without some reward for my labor, I headed out again.  It was close to quitting time, so traffic was thicker.  It had started to rain which of course caused the car wash from the day before to be null and void but at least the new windshield wipers were tested.  I returned to the street I had been cruising and took a left turn in the right direction.  Lo and behold, there was the very address which I had invested an hour’s worth of time and an hour’s worth of fuel to not find earlier in the day.

Of late, it seems that I am also living out that very sequence of events in many ways.  Spur-of-the moment decisions from a while ago have led to many adventures but not to the destination I had in mind at the beginning of the journey.  An investment in time and resources still did not turn my assumptions into reality.  It has meant returning to the basics, reviewing the facts.  Heading out again in search of the real thing will most likely mean hitting thicker traffic and perhaps blessings I held yesterday will become null and void in the future rains.  Needless to say, spur-of-the-moment decisions may require us to make a left turn in the right direction.

Interestingly enough after heading out a second time to look for a specific address in the midst of “quitting time” traffic and evening rains, from my vantage point behind the steering wheel, I noticed something I had never seen before and certainly had not seen earlier in the day.  The iconic engine light was glowing in the dusk from my dashboard.  I almost ran off the road when I saw it.  What was THAT THING doing on my dashboard?  THAT sort of thing doesn’t belong on a car of mine!  I am very careful with maintenance.  (I used to be very careful with maintenance.)  I arrived home in the deepening dusk, thankful that the car had not left me stranded in the dodgy bit I had passed through.

Now there’s a thought for another post: “I used to be very careful with maintenance.”

 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

