More Than I Can Be

“You raise me up so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be”

What started out as a casual search for potential homes for sale has turned into a driven mission in the past two weeks.  My curiosity has turned into a personal challenge fueled by an emotional response to recent events.  My day seems to begin and end now with property searches on the internet.

While reporting the recent findings from the night before to my father in this morning’s phone conversation, I concluded, “Finding a house to buy is as about as easy as finding a husband.  I just can’t afford what’s out there.”  He wisely, and perhaps a bit cheeky, responded, “What you need to do is find one that can afford YOU.”  My frustration drained when I burst out in laughter.  Now that there is a mouthful, is it not?

Tonight, still continuing with this new habit of searching and searching for the perfect house at an amazingly, affordable price, a new opportunity popped up that was the perfect house at an amazingly, affordable price AND back in the direction that I miss so much.  It was already 9 PM when I made this find and I could hardly contain myself.  Too late to call the number listed on the site, I HAD to tell someone.  My parents were sent multiple texts and photos and their response added to my excitement.  For no more than 30 seconds, I deliberated about contacting a friend who knew the general area of the listing; he happens to be quite experienced in dealing with buildings, construction and the like.  I say that I deliberated, meaning I hesitated.  He’s a not a bad sort but to be honest, spending time with him generally leads to … a different lifestyle that is in contradiction to my convictions.  He joined in the encouragement immediately via e-mail when I sent him the link to the listing and gave me some pointers on this and that.

By this point, I am so worked up and excited I feel like I am about to crawl out of my skin.  Continued exchanges with my friend brought me back to reality.  Within a half hour, that he has different expectations in relationships became glaringly obvious again.  Within that same 30 minute time period, further investigation of this property listing indicated a strong possibility that the details may have been entered wrongly as there is a discrepancy in the listing address as far as city and county are concerned.  The perfect house may just not be in the perfect city and county after all.

By this point, I have sufficiently come back down to earth and am aware that it is well after 10 PM and I am drained.  The radio is most often playing in the background, especially in the evenings and tuned into a local family friendly station with strong teaching on Truth and an evening program of refreshing praise music.

As is so often the case, the timing of the teaching and of the songs played is ever so exquisite that it cannot be ignored.

“When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary
When troubles come and my heart burdened be
Then I am still and wait here in the silence
Until you come and sit awhile with me

You raise me up so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your  shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be”

Tis true, just as my father said, “What you need to do is find one that can afford YOU.”  Tis true, just as my Father does, “He raises me up to more than I can be.”

6 thoughts on “More Than I Can Be

    • Thank you, Shari. I love listening to Selah. Yes, house hunting can be fun and exciting. I laugh at myself for each time I yell out, “I found it, I found it!” Being able to laugh is a good thing. It’s a brief spurt of abandonment.

      Like

    • Thank you kindly, Joy. It started out as mere curiosity and then I become like a dog with a bone that won’t let go. Nonetheless, these opportunities are always lead to displays of perfect peace, wisdom and provision.

      Like

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

