A Personal Story

Minutes ago, I wrote this bit of personal story in reply to a post on another blog.  For reasons I cannot explain, I felt led to share the piece here on Shadows of Love as well.  Perhaps it will be a blessing for some who linger here. 

I have cerebral palsy.  Very simply put, it is brain damage from birth with the damage (for me) centering on the part of the brain that controls my muscle movements.  I grew up in doctor’s offices and physical therapy departments.  I grew up wearing orthopedic shoes and leg braces.

 

Many people have prayed for my healing.  When they watch me, they see someone to pity, for all they see is someone who is suffering.  I said as a child and I say as an adult (at almost 48 years old) that my “handicap” is a gift from God.  HE has used it mightily in my life to teach me about HIM; HE has used it mightily in the life of others to teach others about HIM.

Many people have prayed for my healing.  Some have even declared that I am an unbeliever because I hold to the stance that it is a gift and that I do not “receive” the healing that their prayers would bring.

I tell you the truth.  My body, as it is, is a gift from God.  I tell you the truth.  I am healed already.  I may not see the culmination of that healing until I am running down the streets of Heaven.  However, the truth of the matter is, for some (for me), healing is a process.  It is not a one-time event where an earth-shattering, mind-blowing miracle happens and I walk freely forever without struggle and without pain.  It is a life-long, day-by-day journey where every step I take is totally dependent upon the mercy, the grace and the power of an almighty and an all-wise God.

Do not presume that your prayer has not been answered, simply because the evidence of it is not immediately apparent.  From the book of Luke and the book of Mark, “And He said, in His gentle, compassionate fashion, “Daughter, your faith has made you whole. Go in peace, and be healed of your affliction.”

Life (for the believer) is not about “pass or fail” pop quizzes.  Life (for the believer) is a journey in the school of grace, mercy and Love.

17 thoughts on “A Personal Story

  1. Continue striving to be the “you” you were created to be. The definition of healing to some is nowhere near the definition it is to the One who created you. You are loved and well loved just as you are!

    Like

  2. Thank you for that. It’s good to be reminded that if God allows sickness to happen it doesn’t mean He isn’t answering our prayers. I really appreciate your visits to my blog. You are one og my blogging friends. 🙂

    Like

  3. Beautifully put. When I was recovering from brain surgery people told me I looked great and since I looked great I must BE great. But I still had lots of healing going on behind what could be seen.

    With all that said, behind whole is the condition of the heart, not the body. And you project a very strong and lovely heart.

    Everyone should be so lucky …

    Like

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

