A Different Kind Of Pain

When I push myself physically for an extended amount of time or even briefly at something that it is simply too much for me to handle, I am in pain.  Packing to move or something as common as cleaning house or washing a car are some of the activities that come to mind.  If I walk too great a distance or if I have “run” even for a short distance, I am in pain.  Of course, I can’t run but if forced to go at a faster pace than my comfort zone, perhaps to keep up with a crowd, or shopping all day without pause are some of the activities that come to mind.  This kind of pain is probably common to all of us, is it not?  If given the choice, we pull back and rest and adjust our goals in keeping with our abilities.

When I push myself emotionally for an extended amount of time or even briefly at something that it is simply too much for me to handle, I am in pain.  When the environment is negatively charged with words flying like daggers of sarcasm and skepticism and with false padding of pride shrouding a person’s authenticity are a few situations that come to mind.  When the voice boxes around me speak of nothing but doom, gloom, blame, shame and absolutes based on self-fulfilling anxieties are other situations that come to mind.  This kind of pain is probably common to all of us, is it not?  If given the choice, we pull back and regroup and adjust our associations to meet our need for a healthy environment.

But I have noticed a different kind of pain that comes from physical inactivity or passive activity.  Traveling for hours in a confined space with limited movement and computer work or desktop activities results in pain and swelling above standard for me.  When lying in bed beyond necessary for rest and sleep, different points will become sore and began to ache.  Not to mention, the inactivity and the passive activity promotes weakness and instability.  This kind of pain is probably common to all of us, is it not?  If given the choice, we become mobile, moving and stretching as much as possible.  Instead of compressing the muscles of our backs and our backsides, we use them and we work them.

I have noticed a different kind of pain that comes from emotional inactivity or passive connectivity.  Spending hours in a confined space with limited contact or in isolation results in loneliness for me.  When lying in bed beyond necessary for rest and sleep, different memories begin to haunt me and negative thoughts overwhelm me.  Not to mention, the inactivity and the passive connectivity promotes depression and instability.  This kind of pain is probably common to all of us, is it not?  If given the choice, we reach out to connect, interacting with people as much as reasonable.  Instead of compressing the memories of what has been, we search out possibilities for making new ones.

Hiding from life or being kept separate from life, regardless of the circumstances of the separation, is a different kind of pain.  It is sometimes minimized by us and by others around us, but it is a pain nonetheless.  It is real and unfortunately it is reality for some.

Hiding from the Lover of our souls or living life separate from Truth, regardless of the circumstances of the separation, is a different kind of pain.  It is sometimes minimized by us and by others around us, but it is a pain nonetheless.  It is real and unfortunately it is reality for some.  Life becomes a bottomless pit with no hope for relief, for change or for a future.  The fear of failure and insignificance is like a persistent mongrel barking at our door and nipping at our toes.  This kind of pain is probably common to all of us, is it not?

If given the choice …

“When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long.  For day and night Your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer … You are my hiding place; You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.”

4 thoughts on “A Different Kind Of Pain

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

