I’m Sorry That You Chose To Go

I looked and saw your pain. Yet you were still beautiful to me.

I’m sorry that you chose to go.

I listened and heard your despair.  Yet you were still beautiful to me.

I’m sorry that you choose to go.

I watched while you withdrew into darkness.  Yet you were still beautiful to me.

I’m sorry that you chose to go.

I looked and saw the rejection that was heaped on you.  I heard the attacks of condemnation that were hurled at you.  I watched as the will to live slowly drained out of you.  Yet my eyes beheld your beauty and my heart swelled with love.

I wish I could bring you back and teach you to see you as I saw you and to feel what I felt for you.   I wish I could bring you back and take away the pain and the loneliness that filled your heart.  I wish I could bring you back and fill your heart with Hope.

I look now at the pain of my loss and wonder what I could have done.

You chose to go, yet I still love you.

I listen now as our hearts cry out against your sudden leaving.

You chose to go, yet I still love you.

I watch now as others grieve for what should have been.

You chose to go, yet I still love you.

My eyes still behold your beauty and my heart still swells with love.

I’m sorry that you chose to go.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened,  

and I will give you rest.”

 
6 thoughts on “I’m Sorry That You Chose To Go

    • Thank you, Robin. I’ve been a bit distracted of late and otherwise low on inspiration for writing but encouraging comments like yours sets me back in the right direction.

      Like

    • It is heartbreaking to watch. I posted this minutes after learning that the sister of a friend chose to go. Listening to those left behind is almost heavier than learning of the death.

      Like

    • Thank you kindly, Lorraine. Like you, I took a bit of a break from blogging and this was one of my first posts after returning. Unfortunately, the inspiration was from such circumstances.

      Like

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

