Weak, Vulnerable and Open

Weak, vulnerable and open you are, lying there in your recliner.  Your body is shaking with fever.  Your voice is raspy from coughing.  Your curled position under the heavy blanket adds to the child-like appearance of helplessness.  Frail and petite, tired and resigned, simple colds and respiratory infections wreak their havoc on you.

Today you let me have the privilege of driving into town to collect your prescriptions.  As soon as the opportunity was opened to me, I was out the door in a flash.  It was not until I returned that you began to voice your reasons and your excuses of why I shouldn’t have gone.  Today I carried the dirty mug that had held the soup you sipped into the kitchen, washed it, and put it away.  It was left sitting beside your recliner when you walked into the other room.  As soon as the opportunity was opened to me, I grabbed it in a flash.  It was not until you walked into the kitchen and saw what I was doing that you began to apologize for your lapse in responsibility and to voice your reasons and your excuses of why I shouldn’t be cleaning up after you.  Today you listened to me as I recounted my silly adventures of the past few days.   From out of the codeine haze, you looked at me with wonder and interest as if you had learned something about me that you never knew.   Without interrupting and with undivided attention, you laughed with me and expressed your curiosity.  As soon as the opportunity opened up to me, I took it in a flash.

Weak, vulnerable and open you are, lying there in your recliner.  Yet it is a memory I will always cherish.  Flowing like the steam from your vaporizer, the comforting presence of grace filled the room.  Love’s healing power filled the aching heart and satisfied the weary soul.

2 thoughts on “Weak, Vulnerable and Open

    • Never a truer statement that is, Robin. Vulnerability can be a scary place. Thankfully, when I am confronted with vulnerability by surprise and it is immediate, my response tends to be more in line with Love. When there is room and time for me to devise a plan of escape, I usually take it.

      Like

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

