Amazing Grace, Amazing Love

From childhood, I learned to work hard and to be strong.
Into adulthood, I learned to stand alone.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound.
Amazing love, where are you to be found?

With a glimmer of hope and purpose reborn, I bowed at the altar with my new bride.
With sadness and disbelief, I said goodbye to love personified.
In shock and in anger, I lowered her in the ground.
In desperation and in helplessness, I buried my hope under that mound.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound.
Amazing love, where are you to be found?

In the midst of all my failures, I carried on.
Striving each day, my goals were achieved.
Frozen in emptiness, my castle, my burdens and my responsibilities multiplied.
Confused and hurting, my children abandoned on what I had relied.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound.
Amazing love, where are you to be found?

I begin again with determination I do not feel.
I work hard and am strong with childlike tenacity.
I press on now with a new home, a new car and a new freedom.
I stay the same yet everything changes.
I stand alone well into adulthood.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound.
Amazing love, where are you to be found?

In my periphery I see this woman-child.
For years I have taunted her from atop my worldly view.
Sweetly she rests in simplicity.
For years she has challenged me from atop her feisty convictions.
Her naïvety scares me; her innocence draws me.
Her strength and courage confounds me.
Her passion and her frankness consumes me.
Her vulnerability drives me to my knees and calls me to battle.

Amazing grace, how hard to grasp.
Amazing love, what will I do with you?

 

10 thoughts on “Amazing Grace, Amazing Love

  1. Pingback: Amazing Grace X Two For Easter 2012 | Gadaboutblogalot's Blog

  2. Pingback: WHERE WOULD WE BE TODAY WITHOUT GOD’S AMAZING GRACE? « Vine and Branch World Ministries

  3. Pingback: “Amazing Grace,” X Two For This Christmas Season | Gadaboutblogalot's Blog

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

