With the Wind in My Hair

With the wind in my hair, I am free to follow the road to nowhere.  The power of the open throttle carries me to adventures unknown.  The lone ranger rides again.

At home, the wars rage.  Maternal instincts are the bars of my cage.  It is a battle to the end; only the strongest survive.  Familial loyalty and personal royalty hammer out my calling for the day.  Angry words passionately delivered are no less lethal than the stones at the death of Stephen.  While I may be on my knees in defeat, I have yet to find the humility and the grace to cry out, “Lord, do not hold this sin against them.”  It is a dog-eat-dog world and yes, some do bite harder than they bark.  Once bitten you realize that it is not a promise, nor a threat, but a very real reality.

At love, the search continues.  Biological instincts are the bed of my betrayal.  It is a battle to the end; only the vulnerable are wounded.  Protective rights and deeds of mistrust hammer out my calling of singleness.  Passionate words of lust and greed delivered are no less binding than the cage I already occupy.  While I may be on my knees in defeat, I have yet to find the humility and the grace to cry out, “Lord, do not hold this sin against them.”  There just may not be a God after all.  It is a dog-eat-dog world and yes, they will wag their tail just before they bite you.  Once bitten you realize that the promise of love is a very real threat.

With the wind in my hair, I am free to follow the road to nowhere.  The power of the open throttle carries me down roads I do not know.  Where it takes me, I do not care; just anywhere but here for I have yet to find the courage and the wisdom to assume the stance of a man and walk in freedom. The lone ranger rides again.

2 thoughts on “With the Wind in My Hair

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

