To Whom It May Concern, Part 1

To the little girl in the department store:
I watched you in the moments before your meltdown.  I could see that you were already tired from your day of dress-up tea parties, dolls and cartwheels.  As any typical little lady, you were not going to let that fatigue to wear you down, so you fought for more energy as your eyes grew heavy.  But alas, the frustration became too much for you and the tears flowed and the voice shrieked and the meltdown was in full swing.  I just want to say that I am sorry.  It was not meant to be this way.  Little people in a big person’s world are forced into impossible and unfair situations.  Often little people are easy to ignore when the big people have an agenda.  But even when your face was the most flushed and your heart was racing in your little body when all the attention was finally focused on you, unfortunately not in the way that you needed it, I want you to know you were still beautiful to me then.  Even then I loved you and I will always love you.

To the little boy returning home from his great adventure:
What a delight it was to see your eyes sparkling and your face glowing when you came into the kitchen.  The fort in the backyard is indeed the best place for adventure.  Who wouldn’t want to spend an afternoon there?  I couldn’t wait to hear about the discoveries and the mysteries of the day.  I saw too how your chin immediately dropped to your chest when the big people didn’t have time to listen.   I just want to say I am sorry.  It was not meant to be this way.  Often little people are easy to push aside when the big people have an agenda.  I want you to know that you were my hero today in that fort.  I want you to know that I believe you will always be a hero against the bad guys.  I want you to know that I love that about you and I will always love you.

To the young lady hiding in her room:
Do you remember the hours you spent in choosing your outfit, how many outfits you actually tried on before deciding on the perfect one?  Do you remember how nervous you were while you were styling your hair, hoping against hope that this wouldn’t be a bad hair day?  With demure confidence you went away with your date, anxious but eager to step into the adult world finally.  I just want to say I am sorry.  It was not meant to be this way.  Often young people are caught between the little people world and the big people world and in the confusion, the confused attack those who seem to have it all together.  I want you to know that you were a shining star last night at that party.  I want you to know that I am proud of you for the way you dressed and for the things that you didn’t do.  I want you to know that you are going to be a powerful woman to be reckoned with soon.   I want you to know that I love you and I will always love you.

To the young man raging inside:
Man, did you see that flip you just did?  Awesome!  Not many can sail fiercely across the horizon balanced on four small wheels and a platform of plastic and literally flip in mid air and yet land unharmed and perfectly in control.  Most do not have the drive; most are held back by their fears.  But listen to this.  I just want to say I am sorry.  It was not meant to be this way.  A son should never have to see his father strike his mother.  Often the vulnerable ones are easy to victimize when life becomes too much for the wounded soul.  I want you to know that being vulnerable is a beautiful thing for out of it comes strength and joy of life, so don’t be ashamed and don’t fight it.  There is no other way to find love but through vulnerability.  I want you to know that I believe you will never be like your dad and that you have what it takes to make your way in this conflicting world.  I want you to know that I love that about you and I will always love you.

To Whom It May Concern, Part 2
To Whom It May Concern, Part 3

2 thoughts on “To Whom It May Concern, Part 1

  1. Pingback: To Whom It May Concern, Part 2 | Shadows of Love

  2. Pingback: To Whom It May Concern, Part 3 | Shadows of Love

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

