One Step Beyond

One step beyond my world is peace.

One step beyond my sphere of control is healing.

One step beyond my comfort zone is abundance.

One step beyond my system of survival is freedom of life. 

My world is chaotic with the rumblings of anger and thinly veiled torpedos of hate.  I sit at the table of resentment and feed on the fruit of bitterness.  My back is never to the door, for I must always be prepared for any attacker that may enter and surely those who are not for me explicitly are threats by implication.

Those that know me accept that I am not perfect but I am consistent.  My passion and my loyalty cannot be matched.  What I set my mind to do, I will do, even if it means the death of me.  If there is something that needs to be done, I will do it, even when I do not have the skills, resources or tools to carry out the task.  It is simply too expensive to ask and too much of a risk to allow someone else to mess around.  Mess around with me and I will surely make you pay and you will think twice about doing it again.

My duties are endless, because others only half way do the job.  There is always so much to do, because I have to take up the slack and make up for the incompetence of others.  I am responsible for me, myself and mine so that mine can have the life I’ve always wanted.  This is my life and this is my goal.  But one day I will be able to enjoy my little corner of the universe for surely sacrificing myself will be worth it when I see mine happy and free.

Everyone I know flits across the globe and flutters at the sales racks.  They all have bodies that are slim, toned and tanned.  Their flowing manes show no signs of grey; their faces show no wrinkle of age.  Their accessories jingle when they walk; their chatter is light-hearted when they talk.  They find new love interests just as quickly as the tears dry from the previous good-bye.  They have not a care in the world except where to go for their next long weekend.  But I am happy in my little corner of the world; it is all mine and I’ve worked hard to fortify it.  No one can take that away from me.

3 thoughts on “One Step Beyond

  1. Beautifully written and sentiments I can completely empathise with. I, too, expect attacks from all directions at all times, and it is tiring but I cannot relax. For if I do, and I know this from experience, that is when the attacks will come.

    I wish you joy and rest.

    Like

    • Thank you for your compliments. The highest compliment that I could receive is knowing that I write in a way in which others can relate. The emotions are raw; they are real. Life is a beautiful mix of all that is raw, be it pain or be it love.

      The majority of my postings are displays of those raw emotions but often set in a fictitious setting or incidences of real life from the viewpoint of someone I know or have had the privilege of observing. The writings are not particularly about me.

      Many of my postings are in contrast, not only showing love as it should be or could be, but also showing love as it commonly is. My motivation in this particular posting was that of contrast. The beginning statements are as a depiction, a hope, for love as it could be … if I take One Step Beyond where I am now. The ending four paragraphs is a portrayal of life potentially when we are unable or unwilling to take One Step Beyond.

      For it is in the actual taking One Step Beyond that peace, healing, abundance, and freedom of life are found. When we choose to stay within the boundaries we have placed on ourselves, or that others may be trying to place upon us, that we live as if we are not only victims, but prisoners as well.

      The choice is not easy and is never a one time thing but the choice is ours and ours alone.

      Like

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

