All That I Need

In my nightstand, I have all I need.  There are tubes of lotion, a jar of petroleum jelly, a wooden foot massager and a pair of cotton gloves and socks.  I have all I need for keeping my feet and hands in pampered condition.  But I rarely use them.  I fall asleep on the sofa and stumble my way to the bed without even so much as flicking on a light in an effort not to disrupt the half-awake haze.  In the light of day when in the midst of women who are groomed with professional manicures and pedicures, my feet and hands look so unkept in comparison.  I grumble, whine and complain to myself.  Sometimes there is a pity party.  Sometimes there is a judgemental thought against those who enjoy this luxury as a necessity.  Sometimes there is a bit of jealousy and then I rationalize I am probably a better steward of resources than they are and certainly not as vain.

In my second bedroom, I have all that I need.  The room has a HealthRider, a stability ball, hand weights and exercise bands.  I have all that I need for keeping my body toned, stretched and in good working order.  But I inconsistently use them.  Immediately on waking, I will perhaps dress for exercise but distractions often prevent my good intention from leading to action.  After the laundry is started, the trash is taken out and the internet is surfed, an hour passes and so has the motivation to do the necessary thing.  The phone rings and so out the door I go.  Then in the midst of department stores full of fashion, my body size and shape faces the glaring flourescent fact of lack of discipline.  I grumble, whine and complain to myself.  Sometimes there is a pity party.  Sometimes there is a judgemental thought when I see those who practice healthy disciplines.  Sometimes there is a bit of insecurity because I haven’t and then I rationalize I am probably of stronger character and purer heart and certainly not as vain.

In my study, I have all that I need.  There are multiple Books of Truth and many volumes of classic reading that proclaims the way of Love, the way of Life.  There are shelves and more shelves of books that guide me in the pathway to freedom, forgiveness, joy and victory.  The most used ones are those that address relationship matters.  I have all that I need to never doubt my value, my identity nor my purpose in life.  But I …

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

