Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
who am I?

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
the person looking back at me is the image of strength and confidence.
Yet the body peering into the looking-glass is trembling with fear and riddled with infirmity.  The guilt of need and the shame of vulnerability dares me to look the image in the eye.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
the person looking back at me is the image of grace and hope.
Yet the heart poised at the glass of reflection is shaking with condemnation and burdened with doubt.  The pockmarks of attacks and the scars of injuries cause my heart to shrink back.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
the person looking back at me is the image of faith and love.
Yet the soul gazing into the pool of polished metal is wounded and skeptical, brittle and angry.  Memories of misuse, abuse and betrayal haunt me like ghosts of a graveyard.

Mirror, mirror on the wall, who am I?
For my vision is clouded and I see dimly.

2 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

