With Blinded Eyes, I Cannot Hear You

My life is chaos with troubles on every side.  With noise and strife on my left and pain barking from behind, I am hemmed in.  To my right, there are dead ends and in front of me, all I see is darkness.  My eyes are blind and I cannot hear You.

Your Word promises that no temptation shall overtake me that is not common to all.  You say that You are faithful, and You will not let me be tempted beyond Your ability to rescue me. You promise that with the temptation You will reveal the way of escape.  But my eyes are blind and I cannot hear You.

The world offers one substitute after another.  Careers, cars and clothes take the place of family, intimacy and belonging.  Religion and service imitate the way of faith and Love.  Alcohol, drugs and sex without marital commitment erodes where once righteousness, purity and freedom thrived.  And You became the substitute for the guilty, the profane and the condemned.  But my eyes are blind and so, well … I cannot even hear you.

 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

