When I Couldn’t

When I couldn’t
stand or walk
and could only crawl,
He wrapped me
in arms of Love
to carry me.

When I couldn’t
run or jump
and could only watch,
He sat me
in His lap of Love
and laughed with me.

When I couldn’t
be with the crowd
and could only be among them,
He called me apart
to hear His heart of Love
and gently woo’d my soul.

When I couldn’t
find a home of my own,
and could only be a nomad in the land,
He came to me
and made a home in my heart
and whispered an eternity of welcomes.

When I couldn’t
feast on love and security
and could only nibble at crumbs
He came to me
and made ready a banqueting table,
feeding me manna from on high.

When I couldn’t
grasp the key
and could only knock and knock again
He came to me
and carried me over the threshold,
His bride cherished forevermore.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

