Chasing after Pleasure, Running from Pain

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
my body grows fatter,
and my heart grows weaker.

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
my fires burn hotter,
and my passions glow cold.

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
I thirst for salty waters,
and I drink from bitter wells.

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
I become pregnant by disappointment,
and I miscarry from hope.

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
the nights are like eternal darkness,
the mornings are elusive as the wind.

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
confusion feels like my companion,
joy is like a forgotten relative.

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
I keep hiding from Truth,
and circling the lies.

Chasing after pleasure,
running from pain,
I keep tripping over me,
and avoiding You.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

