Hearing My Father’s Voice

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, I began hearing a story of hope, joy and faith.  The world was a world of possibilities; the world was a place worth exploring.  There was so much to life than its complexities, so much to experience.  Only fear, it seems, would hold me back for once I began to believe what my Father promised would come true, I began to step forward.

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, I began to understand purpose and meaning.  The world was a world of depth; the world was a place worth exploring.  There was so much to learn, so much that fed a thirst for life.  Only pride and bitterness, it seems, would hold me back for once I began to believe what my Father promised would come true, I began to step forward.

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, I began to see and accept that I was worthy to be loved.  Not once when I requested His Presence and His attention, did HE tell me that HE had something better to do.  HE did not find me a burden.  HE did not sit me in a corner nor has HE ever told me to behave and to be nice as a pet on a leash.  HE encouraged my strength and delighted in my freedom.  HE found joy in my presence.  HE gave me a gift and said to use it for HIS glory; with HIM words flow without worry of censorship.  HE knows my weaknesses and is not ashamed.  HIS tender mercies envelop me each time I fall.

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, HIS Word taught me Truth and HIS sovereignty taught me Love.  I learned it was safe, and very wise, to follow; I learned it was safe, and very wise, to travel light.  I learned that not all voices of an authoritative pitch should be listened to nor should they be obeyed.

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, I moved somewhere new to learn more about HIM.  In that foreign land, HE proved HIMSELF faithful and did all that HE said HE would do.  I began to discover there is more to my Father than my untrained eye.  Essential are the skills I can share, essential for me at least.  Funny thing, though; my Father doesn’t need them but I was given them to share what I know about HIM.

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, I began to realize that HE always provides.  Wherever HE sent me, HE had already gone ahead to provide a place and provision for me.  When I followed HIM across the pond, HE was already there.  When I returned, HE had already set everything in motion from long ago to provide for my now and my tomorrows.

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, I began to hear how much HE loves me and what in me causes HIM to rejoice.  My Father’s voice is beautiful, HIS words are living words, and HIS message to me is to listen only to Truth, to believe in HIS promises and to love HIM with all my heart, and with all my understanding, and with all my
soul, and with all my strength, and to love my neighbour as if it were myself.

When I began hearing my Father’s voice, I began to walk in newness of life.  Gone were the geographical limitations, the trappings of tradition, the requirement to crawl about apologetically and the mantle of shame and condemnation thrust about me.  When I began hearing my Father’s voice, HE called me to HIM and declared, “Woman, thou are loosed from thine infirmity!”

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

