Looking at Life Through a Mirror

Looking through the mirror, I watch the world go by.
I am in the center of the picture frame, unless I move to the side.
Passers-by enter and leave, come and go.
With them I cannot be bothered unless my view is obstructed.

My worldview expands as the looking-glass does.
I still see me clearly, only in a broader horizon.
The scenery is enhanced, new creatures I see.
With them I cannot be distracted; I must see me.

Looking through the mirror, I watch the world go by.
‘Tis only what is behind me that passes by as life.
‘Tis only me that remains consistently in place.
I cannot imagine the possibilities ahead; but here and now I see me.

My worldview expands as the looking-glass does.
My visage is not as youthful nor glowing now.
What is behind me is still my reality.
If only life could be happier, if only my past I could let go.

5 thoughts on “Looking at Life Through a Mirror

  1. Pingback: Hallelujah, I’m A Sister! | Prayers and Promises

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

