The Little Things

The little things are where my triggers lie.  With a certain sound, smell or image I am immediately reminded of another place and time.  In the pre-dawn hours when I stepped into the local Wal-Mart, I was strangely taken back to shops in Halesowen.  There is absolutely no comparison between a department store in the South of the United States and a shop in the West Midlands of the United Kingdom, but in that moment I was reminded of a different place and time.  There was a certain smell that served as a trigger, a smell I had not noticed here before.

The little things are where my triggers lie.  I am out and about, driving in my vehicle or walking among the crowds.  I see a particular shape of the head and hair coloring without seeing the face.  I am immediately on alert of who this might be.  Proximity reveals their full identity and my breathing and heart rate return to normality.

The little things are where my triggers lie.  I am half-awake in my bed or at the sink for the washing up or even at my computer concentrating on writing a new post.  I hear a certain vehicle and suddenly I am aware of who is coming and going.  As much as I do not want to be ever aware, aware I am by familiarity of sound.

The little things are where my triggers lie.  The little things are where Love is revealed.  A new neighbor has arrived, owner of a vehicle with that certain sound.  So now the association will not always be tied to the other.  Even more so Love shows Himself faithful, for the certain sounds of a particular vehicle have disappeared altogether with the purchase of new one.  I will no longer be reminded of their coming and going.

The little things are where my triggers lie.  The little things are where Love is revealed. There is favor with the readers and comments affirm.  There is favor with the lenders and repairs are completed.  There is favor and grace in a four-year-old’s attention and she squeals with delight when she hears me on the phone.  Her stories I cannot follow with her rapid speech but her favor and delight I do recognize.

The little things are where my triggers lie.  The little things are where Love is revealed.  I sit in my special chair, comfortably warm and freshly fed.  The radio spills my favorite tunes, my favorite preachers, reminding me of the sovereignty of Love and the preciousness of adoption into Love’s family.  I breathe deeply.  The pumpkin vanilla candle has been in my home now for over four months yet its aroma is still vibrant and comforting.

The little things are where my triggers lie.  The little things are where Love is revealed.

 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

