A Slap in the Face

So much joy and excitement I see on your face.  It is as if the 4th of July and Christmas have been combined.  I did not know that you were capable of such deep joy.  I watch you move and I see no evidence of the arthritis that riddles your peace and rides your body.  I know that it is still there but in this moment you have forgotten yourself and you are enjoying others from the deepest part of your heart.

So much joy and excitement I hear in your voice.  It is as if you have been baptized, the familiar you went down and a different you rose in the spirit of grace and forgiveness.  Encouragement flowed from your lips.  Charity freed you as you worked to help another.  Cynicism, sarcasm and bitterness were missing.  I know that it is still there but in this moment you have forgotten that part of you and you are enjoying others from the deepest part of your heart.

I was surprised at seeing your pleasure.  I wish I had had a video to freeze this moment in time.  This is how I would like to remember you.  A slap in the face I felt.  I have never been able to bring you moments like this.

 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

