The Last Word

“She is so sweet.  I always enjoyed going to her house when I was growing up.  She was always so warm and made me feel welcome.”

And so the conversation went as I listened from across the room.  It was hard to listen and not have the last word.  It was hard to listen and not share the truth of what I have experienced.  In all these years, I have never known her to be so sweet or a little sweet … towards me.  I have never felt welcomed in her home.  I have never felt her warmth.  It was hard to sit and swallow the last word.

I have heard often praises and words of kindness about her from many people.  She is well known for her support, for her creativity, for her passion.  I, too, know her for these reasons.  I know her for these reasons when her time and energy are directed at others.  She will move hell and earth if she believes in you.  She will raise hell and bulldoze through the earth if she doesn’t and you have taken the unfortunate stand of being in her way or not unreservedly standing with her.  It was hard to sit and swallow the last word.

And so I am waiting for my automobile to be brought round.  Standing under the portico, I am not alone.  The person next to me is someone about whom I have heard a lot, quite a lot actually.  It seems he is not very popular with most folks.  He doesn’t quite have the spit-and-polish about him that most are comfortable with.  It seems he’s not bothered with the fancy and complicated; he’s just a simple, what-you-see-is-what-you-get kind of person.  He speaks his mind without the filter of social acceptability.  Surprisingly enough, he strikes up a conversation with me.  He showed an interest in what was going on with me and added his personal observations, always keeping his face averted and not making eye contact.  His heart is huge and extremely tender.  It was hard to walk away and not have the last word with those who have not spoken warmly toward him.  His heart has gotten him into trouble in the past and most likely will often know heartache.  It was hard to walk away and swallow the last word.

I have heard it said many times that,

“For the word of God is living and effective and sharper than any double-edged sword, penetrating as far as the  separation  of soul and spirit, joints and marrow.

It is able to judge the ideas and thoughts of the heart.”

If this be true, then I suppose the wisest thing to do is to let the double-edged sword penetrate and be the last word, and not razor sharp tongues.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

