Waiting to See What’s Gonna Happen

Pregnant with anticipation,
charged with latent energy,
vigilant of all that approaches,
waiting to see what’s gonna happen.

Bursting with anticipation,
restless feet and eyes,
pacing, repeatedly looking out the door,
waiting to see what’s gonna happen.

Tense with anticipation,
body attuned with each shift of the wind,
ears ever alert with each sound of possibility,
waiting to see what’s gonna happen.

There has been a diversion of electricity.
There has been a stay of execution.
There has been a cracking in the dam.
And I’m just waiting to see what’s gonna happen.

On what I am waiting, I do not know.
I just know there is an air of expectation.
I just know I am pregnant with anticipation.
And I’m just waiting to see what’s gonna happen.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

