Drink Deeply from the Cup

How often I have longed for
a different cup from which to drink.

For this cup I have been served
is the discipline of pain.

From pain’s bittersweet nectar
I taste Love’s glorious presence.

Pain is not the fullness I wish to hold
but embrace I must for it ushers in Grace Divine.

Sip I could from a different cup if only
the hand that serves it is Love Divine.

Fingers of Mercy tilt this vessel
and arms of Comfort and Strength hold this child.

Captured by Grace in Love’s embrace
I drink deeply from the cup set before me.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

