That You Love Me

I need to know that you love me,
I need to know that you care.

There’s more to love than feeding me,
there’s more to love than clothing me.

When troubles come and crises arise,
you are there armed and ready to fight.

But I need to know that you love me,
I need to know that you care.

There’s more to love than dinners on birthdays,
there’s more to love than gifts at Christmas.

When days of celebration come around,
so do you with the traditional response.

But I need to know that you love me,
I need to know that you care.

See me as a person and not a project.
Speak to me with compassion and not to command.

Listen to me even though you do not hear the point.
Touch me with gentle embraces even though you do not feel the need.

Stop and enjoy the roses with me now,
please don’t wait to do so at my grave.

I need to know that you love me,
I need to know that you care.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

