Doing the Next Thing

The boxes are stacked head high.
The fragile things are wrapped and flagged.
The to-do list and help-needed list have been completed.
I am busy doing the next thing but then I will wait.

Calls to the utility companies are being lined up.
Research for the best deals and options carries on.
The last room to be sorted holds papers of import and legal stuff.
I am busy doing the next thing but then I will wait.

I respond to requests from authorities, requirements though they are.
I sign another document and scan it for transmittal.
I notify the landlord and the postmaster too.
I am busy doing the next thing but then I will wait.

Every day there is something to do.
Every day the to-do list shortens and then is added to.
Every day there is resolution and then the unfinished returns.
I am busy doing the next thing but then I will wait.

Moving from apartment to house is a transfer of home.
Moving home is but one example of the daily business of life.
Moving from event to event is doing the next thing in life.
We do what we can in the moment but then we will wait.

Life is not static where we set up camp and set up home that never changes.
Every day there are changes, sometimes imperceptibly and sometimes life changing.
Hope is strong today but wanes on the morrow but Love is always calling.
We do the next thing but then we wait with the assurance that Love never fails.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

