Than Where I Come From

It’s a different world than where I come from.
In my world, I know what to wear and where to sit.
This is the way that I walk and the way that I talk.
I rise with the sun and work the day through.
At dusk, the natural light dims and I shut down for the night.

It’s a different world than where I come from.
In the big world, I am tossed to and fro.
My speech and behavior are out of place.
Others play all night and schlep the work day through.
At dawn, the light shines harshly on their reality.

It’s a different world than where I come from.
In my world, right and wrong are well-defined.
The day of the week and the hour of the day guide me.
Offensive I could never be; it would be remiss of me.
A servant I strive to be; selfishness does not become me.

It’s a different world than where I come from.
In the big world, I do not know which way to go.
The freedoms of life paralyze me.
Tentatively I will engage you; passively I will forgive you.
To extend Love to you, I dare not try; you are different than I.

4 thoughts on “Than Where I Come From

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

