The Pain of Tenderness

For years I’ve known the pain of suffering
while I lived as a square peg in a round hole.

For a lifetime I’ve known the agony of struggling
while I lived vulnerably in a world of power.

More harshness have I known than softness
and bitterness than sweet.

Yet it is the pain of tenderness and blessing
that threatens to conquer me.

I sit in the morning like a victim of shock
as I take in the view from the abundance of my home.

I walk away humbly from folks I’ve just met
yet they have welcomed me as if I were a lifelong friend.

I laugh because the golden-haired toddler takes my breath away
when she overwhelms me with love and charm and innocence.

I cry in wonder because the pain of tenderness and blessing
threatens to conquer me as if I were a captive of Love.

2 thoughts on “The Pain of Tenderness

  1. Pingback: Things This Beautiful | Shadows of Love

  2. Pingback: Mistress of the House of Cards | Shadows of Love

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

