The Stuff in the Middle

Once upon a time, I loved life in the middle.  After the years of elementary learning and the years of preliminary adulthood drama, came the years of wonder and discovery.  Those decades seemed to be destined to go on forever.  How could they not?

Those middle years were constantly reaching for a new thing, a thing to replace the old.  Those middle years were constantly searching for immutable truth, a Truth that would disengage all deceit and lies.  Those middle years were constantly learning and experimenting, only to fall and stumble to start again.

Those middle years, the stuff in the middle seems so far away now … and so irrelevant.  There are elements of those middle years that are serving me well, providing a foundation that I am ever so proud of.  But the stuff in the middle, those years where achievements would send me soaring and failures would send me in a tailspin, is slowly being removed from memory and significance.  I look at the souvenirs and glance at the photos and it all seems like a hazy glimpse of eternity past.

The stuff in the middle are treasures to be sure, but today is where there is peace and affirmation.  Discovery was astounding and ever so encouraging, for I learned things about me that are true and valuable; ironically those very things were once touted to be my downfall.  The stuff in the middle was chasing after healing and Love.

Once upon a time has come and gone but today is where there is peace and affirmation.  Confidence from the middle years bursts through when I meet strangers in a familiar land.  Many are the things that I proved to myself and the knowledge from them gives me freedom to simply be.  Though I may be back in the land of childhood, it is with maturity and abandonment that I can do what I couldn’t have 30 plus years ago.  The stuff in the middle was chasing after healing and Love, but today is where I am enjoying it.

The stuff in the middle, how to define it?  A period of shedding dead weight, shrugging off things that were thrust upon me?  A time where I sought earnestly and passionately after hope and love only to embrace more bondage and confusion?  The condemnation from others and the shame I brought upon myself is part of the stuff in the middle, yet where is it now?

Once upon a time, the stuff in the middle was important.  But today where I am back in the land of childhood that I am enjoying maturity and abandonment, healing and Love. Today where I am back in the land of childhood that I am being embraced with purity and the wisdom of gentleness.

 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

