Ring of Honor

A ring of honor encircles my finger.  That piece of jewelry with a price tag attached had a monetary value on the display shelf.  Once the ring slid onto my finger, the attachment became of value greater than any earthly monetary system.

The earthly system has tarnished this ring considerably.  But what can I say?  Is this not typical and expected?  The earthly system has tarnished this body of mine considerably.  The passage of time always has a tale to spin and often times the story is not pretty.

We were warned in early commitment days to keep the ring of honor always in a place of safety and to guard it diligently.  Clean it thoroughly when dirt begins to soil it.  Polish it meticulously when the patina of age and passage of time begins to wear down its natural glow.  Actually there were a couple of times that we had to have the ring of honor resized by the Master Crasftsman.  The pain of its restrictive circumference tends to motivate you to change, if you take my meaning.

The value of the attachment comes not from the one who slid the ring on my finger, although at the time, I was fully committed and true.  The great value of the attachment comes from the One who tied the knot of commitment when Love entered my heart and led me down the aisle.

Faithful and true I will remain, though the restrictive circle around my finger may no longer be shiny and new.  Faithful and true I will remain, though the finger with the matching ring may be older and fatter, or perhaps poorer and weaker.  Nonetheless, faithful and true I will remain for my commitment begins with who I am when Love fills my heart and extends all the way over to the other bearing the matching ring because Love is there too.

Mistakes I have made in the upkeep of the ring of honor.  Ignorance and selfishness are mostly to blame.  Would it not be pride, though, if I were to continue on in my lack of wisdom and my desire for personal gain?  The One who tied the knot of commitment entered my heart and led me down the aisle.  Love will also lead me further still.

 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

