The Changes of Time

My heart skips a beat when you enter the room.  This has been true for a long time now.  I suspect it shall remain so for yet a while longer.  The changes of time have not erased that response to you.

Your hair is grayer but still full and vibrant.  Your body has settled here and there.  Age and a life of stress and anxiety have left their marks.  Your power and presence haven’t diminished.  So the changes of time have not altered my response to you.

From a distance I observe you as you work the room.  Some take no particular notice of you; they just take you in stride.  Some respectfully keep a distance; rather than confront and collide, they carry on.  So the changes of time have not lessened my response to you.

There are those who come alive when you arrive.  You are the life of their party.  You are the pied piper of mischief.  You are the maestro of the orchestra and they play at your command.  So the changes of time in reality heighten my response to you.

My heart skips a beat when you enter a room.  My heart nearly fails when I hear your voice on the mobile.  Fear courses through every fiber of my being.  Alarm sounds as a warning in my brain to flee for life or to fight for just one inch of ground.

The changes of time revealed on your body are normal and expected.  Your words and actions in public compared with your words and your actions in private tell a different story.  There is the soft and entertaining you; there is the hardened and menacing you.

The changes of time have taught me to be wary of you.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

