How Many Times

How many times
have I asked
for your time
only to hear
you have none.

But your timeline on Facebook tells me a different story.

How many times
have I asked
for your attention
only to see
that you are distracted.

But your focus on game day tells me a different story.

How many times
have I asked
for your love
only to receive
a gift and a promise.

But your check ins at the gym tells me a different story.

How many times
will I have to pursue you
to give you something good
and lovely and pure
and from deep within my heart.

There’s a different story I desire for you, one of love everlasting, of peace eternal.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

