The Tracks I’ve Made

The shoes and boots I wear for yard work have deep grooves for increased traction.  I need this bit of extra help because my balance is compromised.  The hills and dips on my land, the shifting dirt in my flower bed and the leaves and acorns in my front yard are an unstable environment for me.  But having said that, I refuse to be a prisoner to my home and so I wear hiking shoes and boots when outside while walking about in a typical outdoor environment surrounding a home.

The interesting thing, though, is that those deep grooves in those shoes and boots are the perfect setting for dirt and mud to collect.  And when I step into my car, when I walk into my home or a place of business wearing these shoes or boots after I’ve been in the yard, there are tracks revealing where I’ve been and what I’ve been doing.  There are tracks of dirt and mud left with each step I take, unless I am careful to clean the footwear before stepping inside or wherever.  This morning after I hand-brushed at the backdoor the soles of my footwear, I noticed that I had to sweep away the mess I made while cleaning up the original deposit of soil.

So I swept clean the area around the backdoor after I had cleaned up my outdoor shoes and boots.  And is it goes, when you clean up one area, you notice adjacent areas that need cleaning too.  So I began shaking the indoor rug and sweeping it free of debris outside the door.  And then I swept clean the utility room that is just inside the backdoor of my home.  I briefly wondered where did all this loose dirt come from and then I remembered the guests who had been here recently.  I just hadn’t cleaned up after the extra traffic in and out of my home.

The tracks I’ve made in my home are simply evidence of where I’ve been and what I’ve been doing.  So too are the tracks left by the guests who were here.  The dirt and the soil tell a story that cannot be denied.  Keeping a clean home is constant maintenance.

Keeping a clean home is constant maintenance, regardless of the amount of traffic of those who enter and leave or the purpose of said activity.  Keeping a clean heart is just as constant and maybe even more so.  A bit of dirt may not be an issue initially but after a while, the build up will overwhelm.  What you’ve brought into your home, what you’ve allowed to enter your heart may not be an issue initially but after a while, the build up will overwhelm and hide the beauty of both.  The dirt and soil tell a story that cannot be denied.  Keeping a clean home, keeping a clean heart is constant maintenance.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

