Fire

It only takes a spark to get a fire going.
And soon all those around
fan the flames until it is out of control.

A subtle word dropped here.  A suggestion left dangling there.  Sharing the story bred in anger and fear without a seed of fact or truth gracefully packaged in a prayer request is just the spark that was  needed.  It only takes a spark to get a fire going.  And soon all those around believe what I have said and it is they who fan the flames until it is out of control.

The fire that burns and rages through town was set on purpose some may say, but I was merely speaking my mind and my opinion deserved to be heard.  The circumstances are so unfair and it is only right that reality be revealed.  If there is pain and damage done in the process, well the guilty should expect it and we the innocent can’t take what comes at us lying down.

But what if what I believe to be true is the source of my security and nothing to do with the undisclosed evidence and Truth waiting to be revealed?  The fire that singes and sucks at life will be hell to live down but still perhaps, I will come out alright.  Perhaps I should have sought the Truth before now and cried out,

“I am in so much trouble! I’m ruined!
I’m just a human being—fallible and stammering.
My lips are encrusted with filth;
and I live among people just like me.
But here I am, and I’ve seen with my very own eyes
none other than the King, the Eternal, Commander of heavenly armies.”

2 thoughts on “Fire

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

