Stammering Heart

The tongue stammered and the words jumbled out of my mouth.  I was taken by surprise to have you standing before me.  The visions in my head materialized in flesh and blood.

Inches we stood apart, exchanging polite inquiries and reaching for conversation.  The odd one lingered about but many ears were listening closely and eyes were surreptitiously filming.

My mind exploded with impossibilities but the pitter patter of my heart beat a rhythm of hope.  Afraid that you could see the depth of my heart, I hid my eyes from you.  I feared that my stammering heart would betray me.

 

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

