To the One Who Has Been Shunned

Many a time there has been the occasion where I’ve noticed the turning away and the buzz of whispers.  Many a time there has been the occasion where I’ve noticed that I would be the last one invited or invited by default.  And then there came relief on their faces when I declined their stumbling offer.

Many a time there has been the occasion where I’ve sat alone in a booth built for four in a restaurant full of friends, couples and family.  Many a time there has been the occasion where I’ve walked through the hours of a holiday one minute at a time although I desperately wanted to crawl at best and to hide at worst until next year brought a stretch of time with no special occasions on the calendar.

But to the one who has been shunned, this I must say.  There is a message in the circumstances that may be easy to hear, but listen not.  For it is the Truth in the circumstances which alleviates the shame of rejection and the horrors of being unseen.  It is the Truth juxtaposed with reality which illuminates my identity and my purpose, taking the power away from those around me.

“Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet and a Light unto my path” and in this I find my surety and I see the Truth.  For regardless in how I’ve been shunned, or accepted, ’tis Truth that settles the turmoil, removes the shame and replaces horror for rejoicing.  ‘Tis Turth that leads me on out of the dry and dusty land into a land flowing with milk and honey.  There is abundance of health, acceptance and Love there.  For with Truth, there will be freedom, wholeness, acceptance and grace.

To the one who has been shunned, look not to your left nor to your right, but open your heart and look within.  If there be slights and offenses there, if there be woundedness and feelings of abandonment, lay those on the altar so that Love may enter in to bring you healing and to bring you Hope.  Lay those on the altar so that they may rise up as a burnt sacrifice and as the smoke rises, may it be a pleasing aroma to the Holiest of Sacrifices.

To the one who has been shunned, look not with envy or strife on the ones who have shunned you.  Look on them with pity for their lack of understanding and lack of charity.  Look on them with wisdom and release them from your emotional property.  Always be in control of yourself, your thoughts and your actions as an example of dignity.  Always be in submission to the Holy Spirit, in deed and in thought, as an example of mercy.

To the one who has been shunned, do not be dismayed nor discouraged.  You’ve been born for a divine purpose yet it is with dirty feet and heavy hearts that we trample this earth.  With clean feet and holy hearts, worship and embrace the One who will never leave you nor forsake you.  HE has promised and HE is faithful to do all that He promised.

 

2 thoughts on “To the One Who Has Been Shunned

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

