Serpent Or Servant

It is so much easier
and far more natural
to be a serpent
instead of a servant.

So cripple my feet
until I am weak and slow
and by Your strength
I must go.

Instead of a forked tongue
and unclean lips
sizzle away the salacious
with Your burning coals.

Let me not devour
and shed my skin
but create in me a new heart
and make me altogether new.

Take away not my quickness to flee
when threat and death lurk
but instead give me wings like a Dove
and Your purity of mind and power.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

