If I Had Wings

If I had wings, I would fly
High, high up in the sky.

Far away I would go
To a place I’ve yet to know.

Tears there would be none
Nor fears, guilt or shame.

Beauty would abound
And Love would be all around.

But instead here I must remain
On this dark and thorny terrain.

Pain and bitterness penetrates
While chiding and taunting quietly berates.

Rejection knocks on my door voraciously
Humiliation macerates the welcome mat insidiously.

If I had wings I would fly
To heaven’s portals beyond my eyes.

“…they shall mount up with wings as eagles;
they shall run, and not tire; they shall walk, and not faint.”

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

