Lace and Baby Doll Face

Sugar and spice
and everything nice
that’s what little girls are made of

Like melting wax from a burning candle, her beauty dissipated as life events cinched us into permanence.  The wedding was fantastic, a fairy tale.  When she walked down the aisle and stood before me at the altar, my knees were shaking and my tongue was glued to the roof of my mouth.  How I found the strength to recite holy vows that no man should put asunder I cannot remember.

Sunshine and rainbows
and ribbons for hair bows
that’s what little girls are made of

Together we bought the house.  Together we made the baby.  Together we planned and began to pursue our dreams.  Together we started.   With the candle now burning on both ends, asunder have we arrived together to end it altogether.


Tea parties, laces
and baby doll faces
that’s what little girls are made of

 

With the wick now burned to the nub, the candle is just a bit of wax.  Beauty is no where to be found, only sifted memories and shifted priorities.  Disillusionment has clouded my eyes and calloused my knees through my tears and my prayers.  My tongue grows weary from begging.  Where has that little girl of lace and baby doll face gone?

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

