Somebody to Hold

Somebody to hold
is what I long for
when the light of day burns
with stark reality.

When reality penetrates
and thrusts evil and pain
tormenting life into suffering
as hope and vision ebb away.

Somebody to hold
is what I long for
when the dark of night
shrouds out eternity.

When eternity stands still i
nside a prison of nothingness
filled with taunts and jabs
as peace and connection stand remote.

Somebody to hold
is what I long for
when my mind is riddled
with questions and doubts.

When doubts run rampant
like soldiers marching to battle
shouting chants of war and defeat
as failure and fear conquer and divide.

Somebody to hold is
what I long for
when my mind is weary
from the day’s toil and strife.

When strife grows in intensity
like a gathering storm bursting
with fury and destruction
as helplessness paralyzes and overwhelms.

Though I know for certain and for sure
there is a Sovereign One who holds onto me
for now and for all eternity
somebody to hold is what I long for.

Not as a wheelchair to carry
all of me from here to there
but like unto a cane for support
when life’s balance rocks to and fro.

Not as a roll-off, skip or dumpster
unloading collections of destruction
but like unto a haven or refuge
when life pulls me asunder.

Not as a wizard of potions and magic
forming solutions and controlling havoc
but as a help mate wondrously fitted
of like mindedness and faith.

Not as a guardian of unwieldy authority
forcing respect and exacting obedience
but as someone firmly planted
side-by-side uniquely formed to thrive and love.

Somebody to hold
is what I long for
while this earth spins
relentlessly without mercy.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

