Silence

As the silence settles about me,
the heart within me beats
as loudly as the clock above me
ticks away in measured time.

My thoughts turn to You
for the silence reminds me
of You.

There was a time
when all voids were filled
by You.

But now You seem
so far away
and yet always
beside me.

Could it be true,
would it be wise to say
that silence is not
the absence of You?

It is in the silence
that I hear my own heart
calling out unabashedly for You.

In the silence
You reveal how measured
my heart is toward You.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

