Come Soon I Pray Thee

In the void,
in the silence
I listen for Your Voice.

I am waiting for Your Words,
yet all I hear is the pondering of my soul
and the longings of my heart.

By the well folks are gathered,
only to tell and retell
of bitterness and strife.

Down by the river others linger,
fishing for tales of glory
exaggerated and prideful.

I wait for You and You alone,
Your Mercy is for what I plead
and Your Presence I won’t deny.

In the void,
in the silence
I listen for Your Voice.

Kyrie eleison,
Lord have mercy
come soon I pray Thee.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

