That I Thrive

Many times I have cried
as a victim and as a cripple.

I can speak as a survivor
of mankind’s ill will for me.

But woe is me if that is all
that I am known for and all that I say.

Yes, indeed, I did survive
but my legacy is that I thrive.

Yesterday may have left its footprints
on my back and across my face.

But today, I stand by the strength of Truth
and as for tomorrow, I am not concerned.

If you should see me and I keep on walking
do not be confounded by this or that.

Do not be shocked or surprised if
you find you cannot follow to where I’m going.

I have been given a home in the Promise Land
where God’s house of glory in victory stands.

From where you are to here you cannot go
if in bondage to others you must slave.

The land flowing with goodness and blessing
is beyond the boundaries of your wilderness tent.

One thought on “That I Thrive

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

