Still Easy to Tumble and Fall

As many years as I have been walking,
it is still easy for me to tumble and fall.
Sometimes it is from a natural weakness,
and often times it is simply from pride.

I cannot quote the Bible as I should,
and yes, I’ve read it through and through.
Sometimes it is due to aging and slowing,
but often times it is simply from negligence.

Of politics I have no knowledge and less use,
its tyranny and slander only make me weary.
Of fame and fortune, I have none,
these things for me are neither here nor there.

Of grace and love I often witness,
as much or more by strangers than others.
Of pain and bondage, I am often delivered,
as much or more by solitude than by togetherness.

You see, my poverty is by choices I have made,
that were based on weakness, pride and neglect.
On gold dust and personal power I cannot rest,
only the Holy Spirit to guide and to bless.

2 thoughts on “Still Easy to Tumble and Fall

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

