Civil War Within

Emotional manipulation is not what I long for. Guilt and condemnation are not what I need. I don’t want to play with you in the sandbox, where I kick sand in your face if you kick at me first. Your toys are not what I am after and if you are stronger, smarter, better looking, richer and more popular than I am, that’s okay by me.

Simple and solid love is what I long for. Acceptance and affirmation is what I need. I want to share life with you, where joys are shared and hard times too. If, or when, you are stronger, smarter, better looking, richer or more popular than I am, I will celebrate YOU for being you.

I’m not coming to you as a child that needs to be coddled nor as a parent that should be obeyed. I am just asking for respect as a fellow person and to be loved as one worthy of celebrating.

Competitor I am not, for me love is no game. Enemy I refuse to be, for I do not agree that all is fair in love and war. If you must suit up and bear arms to protect your personal rights, it is not a relationship with me that you are building, but a civil war within yourself you are fighting.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

