Remind Me of This

When I’m down, weak and tired
and I do not feel like holding on
or trying even just one more time,
remind me of this essential thing.

It’s not my strength
and it’s not my grip
that sustains life
but HIS hold on me.

Be silent with the platitudes,
quick fixes, and pop psychology
that gives you the comfort
of having done something grand.

Remind me of this
and nothing else
that it is HIS hold on me
that assures me of love and life.

Friends that pray for me
and post cute sayings
are lovely on a mediocre day,
but time spent with me is priceless.

Cry with me,
laugh with me,
the power of touch
all bring comfort.

Listen with me,
pray with me,
be still with me,
all impart value and dignity.

Remind me of this
and nothing else
that HIS hold on me
is greater than the pain of life.

4 thoughts on “Remind Me of This

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

